NG FAMILY STYLE COMBAT

Discuss John Winglock Ng's Family Style of Practical Combat Applications, Principles and Concepts

HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log inLog in  

Share | 

Hsing I and Bagau

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Jeff

PostSubject: Hsing I and Bagau   Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:54 am

Why do so many practioners around the world who study Baguazhang dabble in Hsing I and vice-versa?

What are the differences?

What are the similarities?

-Jeff
Back to top Go down
View user profile
eric

PostSubject: Re: Hsing I and Bagau   Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:55 pm

First let me say that I am by NO means an expert on these. A lot better answer would come from others like Master Rick Sifu, even "Tony Jon". With that said I'll throw out my 2 cents worth, no make that a penny and a half.
From what I have seen, they are the same, like 2 sides of a coin, of course you have to throw Tai Chi in there too. When I say the same I don't mean carbon copy, but different ways of expressing the same techniques.
Why people train in one and dabble in another is a question that would require an answer from each person who does it. I can only answer for myself. It took Hsing I for me to truly understand Bagau, I know it sounds weird, but then again that's me.
I was not able to train Bagau, Mantis or anything else with my tore rotator cuff. It got to a point that all I could train was Hsing I. Now that the repair has been done, and my arm in an immoblilizer, I can see maybe Tai Chi in my near future for awhile. We'll see. For me it's not about dabbling, but training what I need at that time to keep me going.
Eric
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jason_Gilbert

PostSubject: my take on it   Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:17 pm

The first thing that comes to my mind that all internal arts have in common is chi kung.